Museum of New Mexico Press


Jim Sagel

Bio: Well-known southwestern author and storyteller, Jim Sagel was the author of several titles including Where the Cinnamon Winds Blow; Dancing to Pay the Light Bill; and Garden of Stories. He won numerous awards for his fiction, non-fiction, and poetry, including the El Premio Leterario Ciudad de San Sebastian, Spain, 1997. The prize was given for the best play written in Spanish. Sagel was the first person outside of Spain to receive the award.

Always the Heart

Siempre El Corazon


Dancing to Pay the Light Bill

Essays on New Mexico and the Southwest


Garden of Stories

Jardín de Cuentos


Where the Cinnamon Winds Blow

Donde soplan los vientos de canela